Ask Emma: A Messy Breakup

Dear Emma,

My best friend has been moping around for over a month because her boyfriend went abroad for a year. When they started dating last year, she was upset he was leaving and she started getting sad. Ever since then she’s been nonstop complaining about it. She wanted to stay together but he didn’t and since he’s been gone she’s been miserable. I feel bad but I’m also tired of hearing about it. How do I tell her to kindly shut up?

Over it

Dear Over it,

This is a tricky situation. You know your friend is obviously upset, but you also see that she’s not trying to help herself. You have to be careful when you talk to her about it, because any signs of not supporting her and she will feel like you’re attacking her. You have to let her be sad, but any signs of sulking have to be addressed when they’re happening. If you want to go out and she wants to stay in with a pint of Ben & Jerry’s and watch The Notebook, tell her that she has to get up and try to enjoy herself. If you make a generalization with no evidence that she’s throwing herself a pity party, she will get upset.  If it gets to be too much, then have a talk with her and ask her not to talk about it anymore. Hopefully, she’ll get the hint before then that she needs to start being positive.

Good luck! – Emma

Dear Emma,

I recently broke up with my boyfriend of two and a half years. It was a really messy break up, but we stayed friends. Recently I’ve been talking to a new boy who is the exact opposite of my ex. I’m not even that attracted to him, I just like spending time with him. All my friends tease me that I like him and I get really defensive and this bad feeling in my stomach when they do. I’m almost skeeved out by it. I go through periods of hating him and really liking him and I’m really confused about it. I’ve never felt this way about a person and I don’t know why it’s happening.

Skeeved

Dear Skeeved,

I’ve heard of this feeling before. Girls get it with some guys and nobody is really sure why. In my past experiences, the skeeve feeling comes when you’re not entirely sure of your feelings or when you’re with somebody that isn’t usually your type. This doesn’t mean you should stop hanging out with him! In fact, since you just got out of a relationship, now is the perfect time to explore new things. The more you get to know this kid, the more you might realize he’s more your type than your ex.

Good luck! – Emma


Email questions to fordhamramaskemma@gmail.com

Comment